Biblia Pauperum

Anonymous artist, picture story of the life of Jesus.

Painting on animal hide, 19th /20th century, Ethiopia.

Ethiopia is located in the Horn of Africa and doesn’t have its own access to the sea. It is approximately three times as large as Germany and is home to around 120 ethnic groups who speak more than 80 languages. Ethiopia is one of the poorest countries in the world and has a culture that dates back millennia. From a cultural standpoint, Ethiopia has always been more closely linked to European states such as Byzantium than to its neighbouring African kingdoms. This is still reflected in the country’s art, which Andreas Lommel described as follows in 1985: ‘Ethiopian art is not African art, it’s European art – though it is far removed from Europe and its history, both geographically and in terms of time.’

In fact, Ethiopian art is reminiscent of Byzantine paintings. It ties in seamlessly with the icons of the Eastern Roman Empire, and for good reason.

Stele of King Ezana of Aksum. Photo: Pzbinden7 CC-BY 3.0.

One of the Oldest Christian Kingdoms in History

Where poverty reigns today, the mighty Kingdom of Aksum once thrived. The first references to this trading empire date back to the mid-1st century AD. With its port of Adulis, the Kingdom of Aksum controlled access to the Red Sea. This made Aksum an important stop on the trade route from Rome to India. Tax revenue and business with long-distance merchants were lucrative and brought a great deal of wealth to the kingdom. The numerous treasures that are frequently discovered in Indian soil bear testament to the quantities of Roman denarii that flowed through Aksum to India, in exchange for luxury goods, Chinese silk and costly spices.

Frequent contact with foreign peoples brings new ideas into a country. And it was no different in Aksum. Increasing numbers of traders belonged to the Christian faith and so, in the mid-4th century, Aksum’s ruler King Ezana decided to adopt the Christian faith in his kingdom too, and thereby become a close ally of Byzantium.

The Kingdom of Aksum lasted all the way up until the spread of Islam, which brought about its end. The old capital city was surrendered in the 9th century. The power vacuum was filled by other dynasties, but the people of Aksum remained loyal to their country and, with it, their Christian faith. And so, in the midst of the Islamic environment in modern Ethiopia, a Christian church has survived, whose belief systems and imagery link directly to Byzantine ideas.

Haile Selassie celebrates as the Lion of Judah under the dove of the Holy Spirit. Painting from the British Museum. Photo: UK.

The Tewahedo Church

Tewahedo means unity. It refers to the unification of the two natures of Christ – both divine and human – in one person. The theological concept behind this is debated by western researchers. The study of the Kingdom of Aksum is a very new discipline and although the Aksumite script has been deciphered, much of the content is yet to be interpreted, leaving a whole host of questions unanswered for the time being.

What we know for sure is that Ethiopia’s Christian church survived in isolation for centuries, preserving beliefs and art forms that linked directly back to late antiquity.

Many ceremonies performed by the Tewahedo Church go even further back: they are based on Jewish customs. The church practises circumcision and observes the Sabbath. This gave rise to the Ethiopian legend that the ruling family Menelik was descended from the son of King Solomon and the Queen of Sheba. He is believed to have brought the Ark of the Covenant to Ethiopia, thus transferring the covenant between God and the Jewish people to the people of Ethiopia.

The Tewahedo Church is the only Christian establishment in Sub-Saharan Africa that existed before the colonisation of the continent by western powers. To this day, approx. 32.1 million people in Ethiopia, equivalent to 43.5% of the population, belong to the Christian faith. They come from the ethnic group Amhara people, or the Abyssinians, as western sources used to call them. They were the ruling class of the Ethiopian Empire. Their last emperor Haile Selassie, who was driven out of his country by a military coup in 1974, was also known in western pop culture thanks to the Rastafari movement.

Followers of the Rastafari movement, which is particularly widespread in the Caribbean, regard the Ethiopian Emperor Haile Selassie as their messiah. That’s why you’ll find motifs of Ethiopian Christianity cropping up in numerous song lyrics in reggae music.

The Battle of Adwa, in which Emperor Menelik II drove back Mussolini’s troops. Painting from the British Museum. Photo: UK.

Paintings that Follow the Tradition of Byzantine Icons

To this day, Ethiopian painters adhere to a style that originates directly from the Byzantine Empire. Their works refer directly to Coptic and Byzantine wall paintings. If we take a look at contemporary paintings by Amhara artists, we’re reminded of the early Christian illuminated manuscripts of Ireland, with their intricate weaving patterns, although almost a thousand years passed between the production of the Book of Kells and that of the book we’re presenting here.

This picture bible, which the MoneyMuseum was able to acquire from a German collector, could just as well have been created in the 19th as in the 20th century. Both the technique used and the style have remained unchanged for centuries. The dark outlines of the biblical figures do not suggest any movement. Mary, Christ, the angels and all the saints are frozen in the middle of their actions. The inner space of the figures, clearly defined by the outlines, is filled with sparsely shaded fields of colour. These images are therefore two-dimensional, not three-dimensional. The background, too, is a flat surface without any hint of a landscape. This removes the scenes from world events – raising it to the eternity of heaven.

Annunciation and the Birth of Christ

‘Ave Maria, full of grace’, the angel seems to say as it brings Mary the message that she is going to conceive a child. The mother of God, an industrious housewife, is moving the spindle to make yarn for her weaving, and she looks attentively out at the book’s viewer as she works. The forward-facing stance, the gaze of both eyes, is typical of all icons of the Orthodox Church. Artists and observers alike believed that eyes are the window to the soul.

These forward-facing stances can also be found in the depiction of the nativity: Mary, Joseph and Jesus, as well as the four angels, all look out at us with both eyes, although this depiction requires them to be turned in the direction of the baby Jesus – a direction that is expressed by a slight squint towards the manger.

A Book that Manages to Tell the Biblical Story with Minimal Words

53% of the Ethiopian population is illiterate. This country is therefore one of the areas on our planet where the struggle against illiteracy is yet to be won. But how can a reverend convey the truths of the Tewahedo Church to their illiterate believers? In the west, so-called ‘Biblia Pauperum’ were developed for this very purpose, bibles for the poor and simple-minded. These books didn’t contain any scripture that followers had to understand, but rather engaging pictures.

Many Romanesque churches present a western form of the Biblia Pauperum. Here is an example from the canton of Zurich: the Galluskapelle in Stammheim. Photo: KW.

Picture Bibles

This idea of a Biblia Pauperum, a bible designed to bring salvation to the poor and illiterate, was not unique to Ethiopia. In Germany too, this form of knowledge transfer was used for centuries. Its invention is attributed to St. Ansgar of Bremen, who travelled to Northern Germany and Scandinavia as a missionary in the 9th century and encountered people there who weren’t able to read theological texts. As a result, he is believed to have developed a very specific canon of pictures to make the Christian message easier to understand. Several scenes from the New Testament – which occasionally vary slightly – were juxtaposed with events from the Old Testament. The birth, passion and resurrection of Christ were central, along with some examples of the ministry of Jesus, for instance his baptism in Jordan, the resurrection of Lazarus and the wedding at Cana.

This imagery was used again and again to paint churches. The same images adorn lent cloths and were applied to paper using wooden printing blocks. Woodprints featuring motifs from the history of salvation which were bound together in a book were first described as ‘Biblia Pauperum’ in the 17th century, when they were catalogued as such by the librarian of the Wolfenbüttel library.

While in the west, these picture bibles lost significance with the rise of literacy and the spread of printed bibles from the 16th century onwards, they remained relevant in other areas of the world – including Ethiopia.

An Ethiopian Biblia Pauperum

Above all else, what our example has in common with the western picture bibles is its form. Both are block books, in which each page was produced individually and then put together at the end. Whereas the early specimens in Europe were already being duplicated with wooden stamps and printed on cheap paper in order to save costs, the artist who produced our example was painting on parchment. The animal hide was tanned, cut into strips, sewn together, smoothed out, pre-treated for the application of the paint and, after painting, folded together between two leather-covered wooden boards.

Essentially, it is a picture book. Hardly anybody can read the few words that surround the depicted figures, even in Ethiopia. The texts are written in old Ethiopian, an ancient language that is still used in the liturgy of Tewahedo Church. To this day, there is no dictionary available to translate the unknown words.

But we don’t need one to understand what’s being depicted in the paintings. We recognise these images without the need for any additional text. The Adoration of the Kings, the circumcision of Christ in the temple, the baptism of Christ in the Jordan, the calling of the Apostles, the wedding at Cana, the resurrection of Lazarus, the crucifixion and the ascension of Christ: this book was made to show an illiterate people what happened many centuries ago in the distant region of Galilee.

 

Other Things You Might Be Interested in:

The idea of “Picture Books as Educational Tools” did not just work for the Bible, but also to familiarize modern audiences in the 19th century with the ancient world.

Find out more about another bibliophile work on the subject of Africa in our article “The Treasures of Africa”.

Learn more about the history of Ethiopia in this documentary film.

Biblia Pauperum

Anonymer Künstler, Bildergeschichte des Lebens Jesu.

Malerei auf Tierhaut, 19. / 20. Jahrhundert, Äthiopien.

Äthiopien liegt am Horn von Afrika, ohne einen eigenen Zugang zum Meer zu haben. Es ist ungefähr dreimal so groß wie Deutschland und vereinigt in seinen Grenzen rund 120 ethnische Gruppen, die über 80 Sprachen sprechen. Äthiopien zählt zu den ärmsten Ländern der Welt und hat eine Kultur, die Jahrtausende zurückreicht. Dabei stand Äthiopien immer enger mit europäischen Staaten wie Byzanz in Verbindung als mit den afrikanischen Nachbarreichen. Dies schlägt sich noch heute in seiner Volkskunst nieder, die Andreas Lommel 1985 folgendermaßen charakterisierte: „Äthiopische Kunst, das ist keine afrikanische Kunst, sondern eine europäische – aber ganz weit weg von Europa und seiner Geschichte, räumlich und zeitlich.“

Tatsächlich erinnern äthiopische Bilder an byzantinische Malerei. Sie knüpfen lückenlos an die oströmischen Ikonen an, und das hat einen guten Grund.

Stele des Königs Ezana von Axum. Foto: Pzbinden7 CC-BY 3.0.

Eines der ältesten christlichen Reiche der Geschichte

Wo heute Armut herrscht, blühte einst das mächtige Reich von Axum. Erste Erwähnungen dieses Handelsimperiums stammen aus der Mitte des 1. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. Das Reich von Axum kontrollierte mit seinem Hafen Adulis den Zugang zum Roten Meer. Das machte Axum zu einer wichtigen Station an der Handelsroute von Rom nach Indien. Steuereinnahmen und Geschäfte mit den Fernhändlern waren lukrativ und brachten großen Reichtum. Zahlreiche Schatzfunde, wie sie immer wieder in indischem Boden entdeckt werden, illustrieren, welche Mengen an römischen Denaren für indische Luxuswaren, chinesische Seide und kostspielige Gewürze durch Axum nach Indien flossen.

Häufiger Kontakt mit fremden Völkern bringt neue Ideen in ein Land. So auch in Axum. Immer mehr Händler gehörten dem christlichen Glauben an, und so entschied sich der axumitische Herrscher Ezana Mitte des 4. Jahrhunderts, für sein Reich ebenfalls den christlichen Glauben anzunehmen und damit zu einem engen Verbündeten von Ostrom resp. Byzanz zu werden.

Erst die Ausbreitung des Islams brachte das Ende des Axumitischen Reichs. Im 9. Jahrhundert wurde die alte Hauptstadt aufgegeben. Andere Dynastien füllten die Machtlücke, aber das Volk der Axumiten blieb seinem Land und damit dem christlichen Glauben treu. So überlebte mitten im islamischen Umfeld im heutigen Äthiopien eine christliche Kirche, deren Glaubensvorstellungen und Bilderwelt direkt an byzantinische Vorstellungen anknüpft.

Haile Selassie feiert als Löwe von Juda unter der Darstellung des heiligen Geists. Gemälde British Museum. Foto: UK.

Die Tewahedo-Kirche

Tewahedo bedeutet Einheit. Gemeint ist damit das Zusammenfließen der beiden Naturen Christi – göttlich und menschlich – in einer Person. Welches theologische Konzept dahinter steht, darüber streiten westliche Wissenschaftler. Die Beschäftigung mit dem Reich von Axum ist eine sehr junge Disziplin, und die axumitische Schrift zwar entziffert, aber viele Inhalte noch nicht gedeutet, so dass eine Fülle von Fragen vorläufig ungeklärt bleibt.

Sicher ist, dass die christliche Kirche von Äthiopien Jahrhundertelang isoliert überlebte, so dass sich Glaubensüberzeugungen und Kunstformen erhielten, die direkt an die Spätantike anknüpfen.

Viele Zeremonien der Tewahedo-Kirche gehen sogar noch weiter zurück: Sie beziehen sich auf jüdische Bräuche. Die Beschneidung wird genauso zelebriert wie die Einhaltung des Sabbat. So entstand die äthiopische Legende, dass das Herrscherhaus von Menelik, dem gemeinsamen Sohn von König Salomon und der Königin von Saba, abstamme. Er soll die Bundeslade nach Äthiopien überführt haben, wodurch der Bund Gottes mit den Juden auf das Volk der Äthiopier übertragen worden sei.

Die Tewahedo-Kirche ist das einzige christliche Bekenntnis Schwarzafrikas, das bereits vor der Kolonialisierung durch westliche Mächte bestand. Heute noch gehören ihr in Äthiopien ca. 32,1 Mio. Menschen bzw. 43,5 % der Bevölkerung an. Sie stammen aus der Volksgruppe der Amharen bzw. der Abessinier, wie westliche Quellen sie früher zu nennen pflegten. Sie stellten im Kaiserreich Abessinien die staatstragende Schicht. Ihr letzter Kaiser Haile Selassie, den ein Militärputsch 1974 aus seinem Land vertrieb, wurde durch die Rastafari-Bewegung auch in der westlichen Pop-Kultur bekannt.

Die vor allem in der Karibik weit verbreiteten Rastafaris betrachten den äthiopischen Kaiser Haile Selassie als ihren Messias. So taucht in zahlreichen Songtexten der Reggae-Musik Motive des äthiopischen Christentums auf.

Die Schlacht von Adwa, bei der Kaiser Menelik II. die Truppen Mussolinis zurückdrängte. Gemälde British Museum. Foto: UK.

Bilder in der Tradition byzantinischer Ikonen

Noch heute wird in Äthiopien ein Kunststil gepflegt, der seinen Ursprung direkt im byzantinischen Reich hat. Äthiopische Maler knüpfen mit ihren Werken direkt an koptische und byzantinische Wandmalereien an. Wer zeitgenössische Bilder amharischer Künstler betrachtet, fühlt sich an die frühchristliche Buchmalerei Irlands mit ihrem komplizierten Flechtwerk erinnert, auch wenn zwischen der Herstellung des Book of Kells und der des hier gezeigten Buchs fast ein Jahrtausend liegt.

Die Bilderbibel, die das MoneyMuseum von einer deutschen Sammlerin erwerben konnte, könnte genauso gut im 19. wie im 20. Jahrhundert entstanden sein. Sowohl die dafür verwendete Technik als auch der Stil haben sich seit Jahrhunderten nicht verändert: Die dunklen Umrisslinien der biblischen Gestalten lassen keine Bewegung erahnen. Maria, Christus, die Engel und alle Heiligen sind mitten in ihrem Handeln erstarrt. Der durch die Umrisslinien klar abgegrenzte Innenraum der Figuren wird mit wenig schattierten Farbfeldern gefüllt. So sind die Bilder zwei-, nicht dreidimensional. Auch der Hintergrund wird zur Fläche ohne jede Andeutung einer Landschaft. Das entrückt die Szenen aus dem Weltgeschehen, macht sie zu einem Teil der Ewigkeit.

Verkündigung und Christi Geburt

„Ave Maria, voll der Gnade“, scheint der Engel zu sagen, der Maria die Botschaft bringt, dass sie ein Kind empfangen wird. Die Mutter Gottes, die als rührige Hausfrau die Spindel bewegt, um so den Faden für ihre Webarbeit zu gewinnen, blickt den Betrachter des Buches aufmerksam an. Die Zugewandtheit, der Blick aus beiden Augen ist typisch für alle Ikonen der orthodoxen Kirche. Die Seele liegt in den Augen, so die Überzeugung von Künstler und Betrachter.

Diese frontale Sichtweise finden wir auch bei der Darstellung der Krippe: Maria, Joseph und Jesus, dazu die vier Engel, sie alle sehen uns mit beiden Augen an, auch wenn die Darstellung eigentlich eine Hinwendung zum Christuskind erfordern würde, eine Hinwendung, die durch ein leichtes Schielen in Richtung Krippe zum Ausdruck gebracht wird.

Ein Buch über die biblische Geschichte, das mit wenigen Worten auskommt

53% aller Bewohner Äthiopiens sind Analphabeten. Damit zählt das Land zu den Gegenden auf unserem Planeten, wo der Kampf gegen den Analphabetismus noch nicht gewonnen ist. Wie aber vermittelt ein Geistlicher seinen analphabetischen Gläubigen die Wahrheiten der Tewahedo-Kirche? Im Westen wurde dafür die so genannte Biblia Pauperum entwickelt, die Bibel der Armen und Einfältigen, die keine Schrift zum Verstehen brauchen, sondern eingängige Bilder.

Viele romanische Kirchen präsentieren eine westliche Form der Biblia Pauperum. Hier ein Beispiel aus dem Kanton Zürich: Die Gallus-Kapelle von Stammheim. Foto: KW.

Bilderbibeln

Die Idee einer Biblia Pauperum, einer Bibel, die den Armen, des Lesens Unkundigen das Heilsgeschehen nahebringen soll, entwickelte sich nicht nur in Äthiopien. Auch in Deutschland wurden Jahrhunderte lang solche Bücher benutzt. Man schreibt ihre Erfindung dem hl. Ansgar von Bremen zu, der im 9. Jahrhundert Norddeutschland und Skandinavien missionierte und dort mit Menschen zu tun hatte, die ebenfalls nicht in der Lage waren, theologische Texte zu lesen. Er soll deshalb einen ganz bestimmten Kanon entwickelt haben, um die christliche Botschaft verständlich zu machen. Mehreren – gelegentlich leicht wechselnden – Szenen des Neuen Testaments standen Geschehnisse aus dem Alten Testament gegenüber. Zentral waren die Geburt, die Passion und die Auferstehung Christi, dazu kamen einige Beispiele von Christi öffentlichem Wirken, so die Taufe im Jordan, die Auferweckung des Lazarus und die Hochzeit von Kana.

Diese Bilder wurden immer wieder verwendet, um damit Kirchen auszumalen oder mit Mosaiken zu schmücken. Die gleichen Bilder bedeckten Fastentücher und wurden mittels Druckstöcken aus Holz auf Papier appliziert. Eine Sammlung solcher Holzdrucke mit den Motiven der Heilsgeschichte wurde erstmals im 17. Jahrhundert vom Bibliothekar der Bibliothek von Wolfenbüttel bei seiner Katalogisierung als „Biblia Pauperum“ bezeichnet.

Während diese Bilderbibeln im Westen mit der Alphabetisierung und der Verbreitung gedruckter Bibeln seit dem 16. Jahrhundert an Bedeutung verloren, überlebten sie in anderen Weltgegenden – wie eben in Äthiopien.

Eine äthiopische Biblia Pauperum

Mit der westlichen Bilderbibel gemeinsam hat unser Beispiel vor allem die Form. In beiden Fällen handelt sich um ein Blockbuch, bei dem jede Seite einzeln hergestellt wurde, um sie zuletzt zusammenzufügen. Während schon die frühen Exemplare in Europa aus Kostengründen mittels Holzstempeln vervielfältigt und auf billiges Papier appliziert wurden, malte ein Künstler unser Beispiel auf Pergament. Dafür wurde die Haut gegerbt, in Streifen geschnitten, zusammengenäht, geglättet, für den Farbauftrag vorbehandelt und nach dem Bemalen zwischen zwei mit Leder bezogenen Holzdeckeln zusammengefaltet.

Im Wesentlichen handelt es sich um ein Bilderbuch. Die wenigen Worte, die unsere Gestalten umgeben, kann heute kaum noch jemand lesen – auch in Äthiopien selbst. Die Texte sind in Alt-Äthiopisch, einer uralten Sprache, die heute noch in der Liturgie der Tewahedo-Kirche benutzt wird. Bis heute gibt es dazu kein Wörterbuch, um unbekannte Wörter nachzuschlagen.

Aber das brauchte es sowieso nicht, um zu verstehen, was auf den Bildern dargestellt ist. Wir erkennen die Abbildungen ohne zusätzliche Schrift. Die Anbetung der Könige, Christi Beschneidung im Tempel, Christi Taufe im Jordan, die Berufung der Apostel, die Hochzeit von Kana, die Erweckung des Lazarus, Kreuzigung und Himmelfahrt: Dieses Buch ist gemacht, um einem einfachen Menschen zu zeigen, was da vor vielen Jahrhunderten im fernen Galiläa geschah.

 

Was Sie sonst noch interessieren könnte:

Das „Bilderbuch als Bildungsbuch“ funktionierte nicht nur für die Bibel, sondern auch, um einer modernen Leserschaft im 19. Jh. Wissen über die antike Welt zu vermitteln.

Ein weiteres bibliophiles Werk mit Afrikabezug haben wir im Artikel „Die Schätze Afrikas“ vorgestellt.

Mehr über die Geschichte Äthiopiens erfahren Sie in diesem Dokumentarfilm (auf Englisch).